KIWI DAILY BRIEFING • English
Kiwi Report Kiwi Daily Briefing
Subscribe
Blog Business Local Politics Tech World

Passport Photos Near Me: Where to Get One in Ireland

James George Cooper Clarke • 2026-10-29 • Reviewed by Daniel Mercer

Dublin has pharmacies, booths and studios that all take passport photos, but prices and turnaround differ more than most people expect. According to Summerhill Pharmacy (Dublin 1 pharmacy), walk-in customers can leave with photos ready in about 5–10 minutes.

Lombard set of six: €10 (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2) · Lombard with digital code: €14 (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2) · Summerhill ready time: 5–10 minutes (Summerhill Pharmacy, Dublin 1) · Pharmacy price range: €10–€15 (Smartphone iD, Irish price guide)

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
  • Smartphone iD gives pharmacy prices as €10–€15 in one passage and €8–€15 in another (Smartphone iD, Irish price guide)
  • Irish photo dimensions are absent from the sources reviewed; Photo-Me cites only the photo count (Photo-Me, booth operator)
  • Booth acceptance for Irish applications rests on Photo-Me’s own claim (Photo-Me, booth operator)
3Timeline signal
  • Summerhill’s passport photo page was published 2024-11-16 (Summerhill Pharmacy, Dublin 1)
  • Lombard’s photo services page is dated 2026-07-31 (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2)
  • Smartphone iD’s Irish provider guide is dated 2026-08-03 (Smartphone iD, Irish price guide)
4What’s next
  • Check Lombard’s Monday to Friday hours of 8.30am–6.00pm before you travel (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2)
  • Ask about digital codes at the counter, since digital availability varies by branch (Smartphone iD, Irish price guide)
  • Confirm the paper count of four photos, taken within six months, before printing (Photo-Me, booth operator)

Ten listed values, one pattern: most prices sit between €8 and €15, and the clearest price step is the digital code, which adds €4 at Lombard.

Item Listed value
Lombard Pharmacy, standard set of six €10 (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2)
Lombard Pharmacy, Passport Online with digital code €14 (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2)
Chambers + Pharmacy, 8 photographs €8 (Chambers + Pharmacy, Dublin pharmacy)
Molloys Pharmacy, IDstation Online upload €10 (Molloys Pharmacy, Ballina pharmacy)
Phelan’s Pharmacy, print and email (Cork) €12.50 (Phelan’s Pharmacy, Cork pharmacy)
Images studio, Irish passport photo (printed and digital) €10 (Images, Dún Laoghaire studio)
Images studio, international passport photo €15 (Images, Dún Laoghaire studio)
PhotoPass Ireland, digital download From €7.99 (PhotoPass Ireland, independent online service)
Summerhill Pharmacy, ready time 5–10 minutes (Summerhill Pharmacy, Dublin 1)
Paper application photos (per the DFA, via Photo-Me) Four identical photos taken within the last six months (Photo-Me, booth operator)

Where’s the best place to get a passport photo?

Pharmacies come up most often in the sources, and several name a walk-in service. Chambers + Pharmacy in Dublin lists eight photographs for €8 and says its staff are trained to meet passport authority requirements (Chambers + Pharmacy, Dublin pharmacy).

Coverage across the county is also wide. Golden Pages lists 14 passport photograph businesses for Dublin County, with pharmacies predominating (Golden Pages, Dublin County directory).

Pharmacy passport photos near me

  • Summerhill Pharmacy, Dublin 1: walk-in service with no appointment, ready in about 5–10 minutes, with digital copies on request, according to Summerhill Pharmacy, Dublin 1 pharmacy. Opening hours are Monday to Friday 09:00–18:00, with weekends and bank holidays closed.
  • Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2: €10 for six standard photos and €14 for a Passport Online photo with a digital code, taken and printed within a few minutes with no appointment (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2).
  • Bonners Pharmacy: EU passport and ID photos taken and printed on any day, though the pharmacy’s page warns that walk-ins at lunch are not always available (Bonners Pharmacy, photo service page).
  • Fortune’s Pharmacy: takes a digital photo for Passport Online and resizes a phone or camera photo to Passport Office guidelines, in about three minutes, according to Fortune’s Pharmacy, pharmacy photo guide.
  • Molloys Pharmacy, Ballina: €10 to upload a photo to IDstation Online, with only an email address needed and no appointment (Molloys Pharmacy, Ballina pharmacy).
  • Phelan’s Pharmacy, Cork: €12.50 for print and email, with no appointment required, though the pharmacy notes a consultation fee applies (Phelan’s Pharmacy, Cork pharmacy).

Passport photo booth near me

  • Photo-Me says its booths print DFA-approved Irish passport photos with a digital code, and offer email delivery with no appointment needed (Photo-Me, booth operator).
  • According to Smartphone iD, Dublin price guide, Dublin photo booths are cheaper than studios.

Studio prices in Dublin

  • Images, Dún Laoghaire Shopping Centre: €10 for Irish passport photos in its private studio, with printed and digital versions, and €15 for international photos (Images, Dún Laoghaire studio).
  • Smartphone iD’s Dublin guide puts average studio pricing at about €8–€10, while its national guide lists studios at €15–€25 (Smartphone iD, Dublin price guide; Smartphone iD, Irish price guide).

Ten providers, one pattern: appointments are rarely a barrier, but ready times are missing from most listings.

Provider Format Listed price Appointment Ready time
Summerhill Pharmacy (Dublin 1 pharmacy) Walk-in; digital copies on request Not listed Not needed 5–10 minutes
Lombard Pharmacy (Dublin 2 pharmacy) Standard set; Passport Online with digital code €10; €14 Not needed A few minutes
Chambers + Pharmacy (Dublin pharmacy) 8 photographs €8 Not stated Not stated
Bonners Pharmacy (pharmacy photo page) EU passport and ID photos Not stated Walk-ins at lunch not guaranteed Not stated
Fortune’s Pharmacy (pharmacy photo guide) Digital code; resized phone photo Not stated Not stated About 3 minutes
Images (Dún Laoghaire studio) Irish and international photos; printed and digital €10; €15 Not stated Not stated
Photo-Me (booth operator) Printed photos, digital code, email delivery Not stated Not needed Not stated
PhotoPass Ireland (independent online service) Digital download by email From €7.99 Not stated Under 60 seconds
Phelan’s Pharmacy (Cork pharmacy) Print and email €12.50 Not required Not stated
Molloys Pharmacy (Ballina pharmacy) IDstation Online upload €10 Not needed Not stated

The catch: of the Dublin pharmacies in this review, only Summerhill and Lombard publish both a walk-in policy and a ready time, so the others need a phone call before you go.

Bottom line: Summerhill (Dublin 1) and Lombard (Dublin 2) are the two Dublin pharmacies in these sources that publish walk-in service and ready times. A Dublin resident who needs a photo today should walk into one of them on a weekday before 6pm, and call ahead anywhere else.

The pattern: walk-in service and published ready times, not price alone, decide which Dublin pharmacy can produce a photo today.

Can you use a photo booth for a passport?

Photo-Me says its booths produce DFA-approved Irish passport photos, which makes booths the most direct claim of official approval in this review (Photo-Me, booth operator).

That claim still comes from the booth operator, not from a government page, and no independent source in this review tests it.

Photo booth print quality and reliability

  • Photo-Me booths print photos, provide a digital code, and deliver by email, with no appointment needed (Photo-Me, booth operator).
  • Photo-Me’s customer care team is available seven days a week from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m., according to Photo-Me, booth operator.
  • Smartphone iD states that most photo booths provide printed photos within minutes (Smartphone iD, Irish price guide).

Acceptance rules for booth photos

  • Paper applications need four identical photos taken within the last six months, a rule Photo-Me attributes to the Department of Foreign Affairs (Photo-Me, booth operator).
  • No source here independently confirms that booth photos meet the same size and background criteria as studio photos.

Upsides

  • Photo-Me says its booths produce DFA-approved photos with a digital code (Photo-Me, booth operator)
  • No appointment is needed, with printed photos and email delivery (Photo-Me, booth operator)
  • Dublin booths are cheaper than studios, according to Smartphone iD, Dublin price guide

Downsides

  • Acceptance rests on the operator’s own statement (Photo-Me, booth operator)
  • Smartphone iD’s price bands for booths differ across its pages (Smartphone iD, passport fees page; Smartphone iD, Irish price guide)
  • Print-speed evidence is thin, with the only timing claim coming from a price guide (Smartphone iD, Irish price guide)
The catch

Photo-Me’s approval claim is the strongest booth evidence in this review, and it comes from the company that sells the booth. Check the photo against official Irish guidance before you pay for a print.

Bottom line: The trade-off: a booth needs no appointment, but the approval check falls to you.

What is the standard size of a passport photo in Ireland?

The sources reviewed do not give Irish passport photo dimensions. The only official-style specification they cite is a count: four identical photos taken within the last six months, as reported by Photo-Me from the Department of Foreign Affairs (Photo-Me, booth operator).

That count tells you how many prints to order, not how big each one should be.

Irish passport photo size requirements

  • Paper applications require four identical photos taken within the last six months (Photo-Me, booth operator, citing the Department of Foreign Affairs).
  • Millimetre and pixel dimensions are not confirmed in any source here, so take them from official Irish passport guidance before you print.

Irish passport photo checker tools

  • PhotoPass Ireland runs a compliance check on its digital download, which starts at €7.99 and arrives by email, according to PhotoPass Ireland, independent online service.
  • Fortune’s Pharmacy says it can resize a phone or camera photo to Passport Office guidelines and email it back in about three minutes (Fortune’s Pharmacy, pharmacy photo guide).
What to watch

PhotoPass says it is independent of any government authority and that the reviewing authority makes the final call on acceptance (PhotoPass Ireland, independent online service). A checker can only confirm a rule that someone has published.

What this means: until official dimensions are confirmed, treat any size figure from a commercial site as a checking aid, not the rule.

What is the one color you should not wear in a passport photo?

No source reviewed names a colour to avoid, so this answer stays open. The only passport rule these sources attach to a government body is the photo count, which says nothing about clothing or background.

Black-and-white acceptance and shirt rules sit in the same position.

Black and white passport photos

  • Nothing in the sources reviewed confirms whether black-and-white photos are accepted for Irish applications.
  • The DFA rule that Photo-Me cites covers the photo count and age of the photos, not colour (Photo-Me, booth operator).

Is a shirt compulsory for a passport photo?

  • No source in this review addresses clothing for Irish passport photos.
  • Any clothing advice from a commercial site should be labelled as commercial guidance and checked against official rules first.
The catch

Colour and clothing are the rules this review could not confirm, which makes them the first items to check on official guidance before a photo is taken.

The pattern: every colour and clothing answer here is still open, so verify before you shoot.

What is the best way to take a passport photo at home?

The sources reviewed do not confirm a free online passport photo option for Irish applications. The one digital route with a stated compliance check is paid, starting at €7.99 (PhotoPass Ireland, independent online service).

The steps below assume you want a usable photo without a second trip.

  1. Check the official Irish size, colour and clothing rules first, since the sources here do not confirm them.
  2. If you need the Passport Online digital code, compare Lombard’s €14 option with other pharmacies and booths that offer one (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2).
  3. Call ahead, because Smartphone iD says digital availability varies by pharmacy branch (Smartphone iD, Irish price guide).
  4. If you go digital, note that PhotoPass Ireland says its digital download is the only delivery method currently offered (PhotoPass Ireland, delivery page).

Free passport photo online options

  • No free online option is confirmed for Irish applications in these sources.
  • The paid digital download from PhotoPass Ireland starts at €7.99 and is delivered by email (PhotoPass Ireland, independent online service).
  • PhotoPass Ireland describes printed delivery and pharmacy pickup as “launching soon” (PhotoPass Ireland, delivery page).

Lighting and background setup at home

  • No lighting or backdrop guidance appears in the sources reviewed for this article.
  • Home photos still face the same size, background and clothing rules as studio photos, and those rules remain unconfirmed here.
The upshot

A home photo saves a trip, but it only works once you have checked it against official rules. Until then, a pharmacy or studio print is the lower-risk route.

The implication: the home route is a fallback, not a shortcut, until the rules are confirmed.

Confirmed facts versus open questions

Confirmed

  • Lombard Pharmacy lists €10 for six standard photos and €14 with a Passport Online digital code (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2)
  • Summerhill Pharmacy offers walk-in photos ready in about 5–10 minutes (Summerhill Pharmacy, Dublin 1)
  • Photo-Me cites the DFA rule of four identical photos taken within the last six months (Photo-Me, booth operator)

Open or conflicting

  • Pharmacy price bands differ: €10–€15 in one Smartphone iD passage and €8–€15 in another (Smartphone iD, Irish price guide; Smartphone iD, passport fees page)
  • Studio price bands conflict: €15–€25 in one guide, €12–€20 in another, and about €8–€10 in Dublin in a third (Smartphone iD, Irish price guide; Smartphone iD, Dublin price guide)
  • Booth acceptance for Irish applications rests only on Photo-Me’s own claim (Photo-Me, booth operator)
  • Irish dimensions and colour rules are not confirmed by any source reviewed
  • Burnetts Pharmacy’s passport service is named only on Images’ page (Images, Dún Laoghaire studio)
  • No source reviewed covers pharmacy availability in Blanchardstown or Rathfarnham

What this means: the confirmed list covers prices and timing from named providers, while the rules that decide acceptance remain open.

In their own words

“Summerhill Pharmacy offers fast, high-quality passport photo services for all countries, including Ireland, the USA, and the UK.”

Summerhill Pharmacy, its Dublin 1 service page

“Currently, all orders are delivered as a digital download sent to your email address.”

PhotoPass Ireland, its service FAQ

“The Department of Foreign Affairs says paper applications require four identical photos taken within the last six months.”

Photo-Me, citing the Department of Foreign Affairs, its Irish passport photo page

Walk-in passport photos are available in Dublin, but the rules that decide whether a photo is accepted remain the open question. Pharmacies publish their own terms, while booths and digital services publish their own approval claims, so the official checks fall to the reader. For a Dublin resident who needs a photo this week, the choice is clear: walk into Summerhill or Lombard on a weekday before 6pm, paying €14 at Lombard for the Passport Online digital code if the application is online, or confirm the official size and colour rules before paying for any other print.

Additional sources

photopassid.com, smartphone-id.com

Frequently asked questions

How much do passport photos cost in Dublin?

The lowest listed price is €8 for eight photographs at Chambers + Pharmacy (Dublin pharmacy). Lombard Pharmacy’s standard set of six costs €10 (Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2), and Images lists €10 for an Irish passport photo, printed and digital, in Dún Laoghaire (Images, Dún Laoghaire studio).

Can I get passport photos at Boots?

None of the sources reviewed mention Boots, so this stays unverified. Call the store or check its photo service page before you go.

Where can I get passport photos in Blanchardstown?

No source reviewed covers Blanchardstown. Golden Pages lists 14 passport photograph businesses for Dublin County, with pharmacies predominating (Golden Pages, Dublin County directory), so start with that list.

Can I check an Irish passport photo online before I print it?

Not with a verified checker in this review. PhotoPass Ireland says it runs a compliance check on its digital download from €7.99, but it also says the reviewing authority makes the final decision (PhotoPass Ireland, independent online service).

Do pharmacies in Dublin still take passport photos?

Yes, according to their own pages. Summerhill and Lombard both list walk-in service (Summerhill Pharmacy, Dublin 1; Lombard Pharmacy, Dublin 2), and Chambers + Pharmacy also lists passport photos in Dublin (Chambers + Pharmacy, Dublin pharmacy).

What does a specialist or international passport print cost?

Images lists €15 for an international passport photo at its Dún Laoghaire studio (Images, Dún Laoghaire studio). No specialist print price from a pharmacy was verified in this review.

Related reading: cost of NZ passport guide (written for New Zealand applicants, so fees and rules differ).



James George Cooper Clarke

About the author

James George Cooper Clarke

Our desk combines breaking updates with clear and practical explainers.