
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2026: Dates, Tickets and Open Questions
Plenty of race fans see a date online and assume it is settled, but the 2026 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix is a case where the listings disagree. The official ticketing page gives Thursday 3 to Sunday 6 December 2026 (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)), yet some guides start the weekend a day later, so this article separates what is confirmed from what is still open.
Venue: Yas Marina Circuit, Yas Island (Rayna Tours (ticket and tour operator)) · Circuit length: 5.281 km, according to gpticketshop.com (ticket reseller) · Race distance: 58 laps, approx. 306.2 km (Live UAE (local guide)) · Official dates: Thursday 3 to Sunday 6 December 2026 (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)) · General Admission from: AED 745 (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix official site (event organiser))
Quick snapshot
- The race weekend runs Thursday 3 to Sunday 6 December 2026 on the official ticketing page (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales))
- Race day is Sunday 6 December (Formula 1 race page (championship calendar))
- The race is held at Yas Marina Circuit on Yas Island (Rayna Tours (ticket and tour operator))
- Visit Abu Dhabi lists the weekend as 4–7 December with daily sessions (Visit Abu Dhabi (government tourism body))
- Race start is listed as 13:00 (Formula 1 race page (championship calendar)), 17:00 (WhatsOn.ae (local events guide)) or 18:30 (Travel and Leisure Asia (regional travel press))
- Visit Abu Dhabi’s starting price of AED 395 does not match the official AED 745 (Visit Abu Dhabi (government tourism body))
- The race became Formula 1’s first twilight race in 2009 (McLaren (works F1 team))
- Main and North Grandstands are reported as already sold out, per Ethara Live (Gulf Business (regional trade press))
- The 2026 field has 11 teams, up from 10 in 2025 (Gulf Business (regional trade press))
- The Yasalam festival runs 2–6 December (Formula 1 news (official entertainment line-up))
- Imagine Dragons headline on Saturday 5 December, after qualifying (Racing News 365 (motorsport news))
- The Chainsmokers and The Script close the after-race concerts on Sunday 6 December (Formula 1 news (official entertainment line-up))
The table holds nine figures and one pattern: the prices and the race day are the firmest, while start times and venue naming are where the sources split.
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| First race | 2009 (McLaren (works F1 team)) |
| Venue | Yas Marina Circuit, Yas Island (Rayna Tours (ticket and tour operator)) |
| Circuit length | 5.281 km, according to gpticketshop.com (ticket reseller) |
| Race distance | 58 laps, approx. 306.2 km (Live UAE (local guide)) |
| 2026 event dates | Thursday 3 to Sunday 6 December 2026 (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)) |
| Race start | 13:00 on Sunday 6 December, time zone not stated (Formula 1 race page (championship calendar)); 17:00 per WhatsOn.ae (local events guide) |
| General Admission from | AED 745 (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix official site (event organiser)) |
| Grandstands from | AED 1,895 (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix official site (event organiser)) |
| Teams in 2026 | 11, up from 10 in 2025 (Gulf Business (regional trade press)) |
What date is the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in 2026?
Scheduled race weekend dates
- The official ticketing page lists the event dates as Thursday 3 to Sunday 6 December 2026 (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)).
- The official homepage gives the same 3–6 December range (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix official site (event organiser)).
- The Formula 1 race page places practice on 4 December, qualifying on 5 December and the race on 6 December (Formula 1 race page (championship calendar)).
Conflicting date listings
- Visit Abu Dhabi lists the weekend as 4–7 December 2026, with daily sessions (Visit Abu Dhabi (government tourism body)).
- Event Escapes gives 4–6 December and places the race on Sunday 6 December (Event Escapes (event travel operator)).
The implication: Sunday 6 December is the race day that the official ticketing page, the Formula 1 race page and Event Escapes all share, so plan around that day and treat the opening day as the figure to confirm before booking flights.
What is the Grand Prix schedule for 2026?
Race weekend format
- Formula 1 lists practice on Friday 4 December, qualifying on Saturday 5 December and the race on Sunday 6 December (Formula 1 race page (championship calendar)).
- The official ticketing page sells four-day tickets, which covers the full run of the event (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)).
- Ticket categories on the official site include Grandstands, Premium, Premium Hospitality, Upgrades and Concerts, and General Admission (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix official site (event organiser)).
Session times not confirmed
Race start is the weakest figure in the picture. Three different start times appear across the sources, and the official race page does not state its time zone, so a departure time built on one listing could be off by hours.
- McLaren gives Friday practice at 13:30–14:30 and 17:00–18:00, qualifying at 18:00–19:00 on Saturday and the race at 17:00–19:00 on Sunday, in GST (McLaren (works F1 team)).
- Travel and Leisure Asia lists the race at 18:30 local time, a figure that conflicts with the 17:00 start given by McLaren and WhatsOn.ae (Travel and Leisure Asia (regional travel press)).
The catch: no official timetable in the research confirms a single start time, so check the Formula 1 race page for session times before setting any transport plan.
How much is a Formula 1 ticket?
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2026 ticket prices
- General Admission starts at AED 745 on the official site (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix official site (event organiser)).
- Grandstands start at AED 1,895 and Premium Hospitality at AED 7,995 (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix official site (event organiser)).
- The official ticketing page shows South Grandstand from AED 2,495 and Marina Grandstand from AED 2,395 for four-day tickets (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)).
- Travel and Leisure Asia reports grandstand packages from AED 2,395 and premium hospitality up to AED 13,995 (Travel and Leisure Asia (regional travel press)).
- According to Visit Abu Dhabi, tickets start from AED 395 (Visit Abu Dhabi (government tourism body)).
The Visit Abu Dhabi starting price is roughly half the official AED 745 figure, and nothing in the research reconciles the two. Anyone budgeting from the lower number risks a surprise at checkout.
Where to buy tickets
- The official Abu Dhabi Grand Prix website is the primary sales channel in the research (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)).
- Resale marketplaces list tickets at prices that move independently of official sales, according to Route and Stay (Route and Stay (travel guide)).
- Rayna Tours says tickets are non-refundable and that holders must present a valid ticket or e-ticket with photo ID (Rayna Tours (ticket and tour operator)).
Why this matters: the ticket answer depends on the category, not one price. General Admission is the official baseline, and grandstand and hospitality prices sit well above it.
Is there F1 in Abu Dhabi?
Yas Marina Circuit
- The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix is held at Yas Marina Circuit on Yas Island, Abu Dhabi, UAE (Rayna Tours (ticket and tour operator)).
- The circuit opened in 2009 and was designed by Hermann Tilke, according to Route and Stay (Route and Stay (travel guide)).
- The circuit contains Main, West, North, South and Marina grandstands plus Oasis fan zones (WhatsOn.ae (local events guide)).
- Some listings also refer to Etihad Park, but no source in this review ties that name to the circuit itself, so this article uses Yas Marina Circuit.
Season finale status
The 2026 race is described as the final round of the championship, yet the official Formula 1 pages in the research do not state that. The finale label rests on McLaren and an event operator rather than on an official championship statement.
- McLaren describes the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2026 as the final round of the Formula One World Championship season (McLaren (works F1 team)).
- According to Event Escapes, the race is Round 23 of 23 (Event Escapes (event travel operator)).
The implication: treat the finale label as well reported but not yet backed by an official championship statement, and check the Formula 1 calendar before building it into a travel plan.
Who won the qualifying for F1 today?
Latest qualifying result
- The research contains no qualifying result, so this article names no winner.
- Qualifying is scheduled for Saturday 5 December (Formula 1 race page (championship calendar)).
Where to check live timing
- The Formula 1 race page is the official reference for the session schedule, so check it for the Saturday session once it begins (Formula 1 race page (championship calendar)).
- Previous Abu Dhabi Grand Prix results need their own official source before they are stated.
The implication: a qualifying winner should only be named from a live timing or official results feed, which this article does not have, so any name printed before that feed exists would be guesswork.
Timeline signal
- 2009: The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix becomes Formula 1’s first twilight race (McLaren (works F1 team)).
- Wednesday 2 December 2026: Andrea Bocelli opens Yasalam Classics at Etihad Arena (Formula 1 news (official entertainment line-up)).
- Thursday 3 December 2026: First day of the event on the official ticketing page (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)).
- Saturday 5 December 2026: Imagine Dragons headline after qualifying (Racing News 365 (motorsport news)).
- Sunday 6 December 2026: The Chainsmokers and The Script close the after-race concert programme, and the race runs the same day (Formula 1 news (official entertainment line-up)).
The pattern: the entertainment runs for days on either side of the race, so the weekend is a longer event than the Sunday race alone.
Confirmed facts and what’s unclear
Confirmed facts
- The official ticketing page lists the event dates as 3–6 December 2026 (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)).
- General Admission starts at AED 745 on the official site (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix official site (event organiser)).
- After-Race Concerts are available only to Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticket holders (Formula 1 news (official entertainment line-up)).
What’s unclear
- The opening day: 3 December on the official ticketing page, against 4 December in Visit Abu Dhabi and Event Escapes.
- The race start: 13:00, 17:00 or 18:30, depending on the source.
- The starting ticket price: AED 745 on the official site, against AED 395 according to Visit Abu Dhabi.
- The venue name: Yas Marina Circuit in most listings, against Etihad Park in others.
- Whether 2026 closes the championship season: McLaren says so (McLaren (works F1 team)), but no official Formula 1 page in the research does.
- Whether the Main and North Grandstands are sold out, as reported by Gulf Business (Gulf Business (regional trade press)), citing Ethara Live.
- The 11-team field, up from 10 in 2025, which rests on a single trade-press report (Gulf Business (regional trade press)).
- Qualifying results and any concert details beyond the listed headliners.
The pattern: the confirmed list is short and rests on official pages, while the open list is longer. That is typical of an event still being packaged.
What the sources say
The official ticketing page lists the event dates as 3 to 6 December 2026, with General Admission from AED 745.
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)
The Yasalam programme includes seven After-Race Concerts and 12 artists across multiple venues on Yas Island, and the After-Race Concerts are exclusive to ticket holders.
Formula 1 news (official entertainment line-up)
According to the listing, tickets start from AED 395, and hospitality is booked through the official ticketing site.
Visit Abu Dhabi (government tourism body)
Sunday 6 December is the race day that the Formula 1 race page lists (Formula 1 race page (championship calendar)), and the circuit, Yas Marina Circuit on Yas Island, is not in dispute. For anyone flying in, the choice is clear: buy through the official site now, since Gulf Business reports the Main and North Grandstands as already sold out (Gulf Business (regional trade press)), or accept resale prices that the research does not verify.
Related reading: Ed Sheeran tickets Auckland 2026 prices and dates · WWE Royal Rumble 2026 Riyadh lineup and how to watch
Frequently asked questions
Where is the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix held?
It is held at Yas Marina Circuit on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi (Rayna Tours (ticket and tour operator)).
When was the first Abu Dhabi Grand Prix held?
The first race took place in 2009, and it became Formula 1’s first twilight race (McLaren (works F1 team)).
Is the 2026 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix confirmed?
The official ticketing page and official homepage both list the 2026 event dates (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix ticketing page (official sales)). The Formula 1 race page lists sessions on 4, 5 and 6 December (Formula 1 race page (championship calendar)).
Is there a concert at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2026?
Yes. The Yasalam programme includes seven After-Race Concerts, and Andrea Bocelli opens Yasalam Classics on Wednesday 2 December at Etihad Arena (Formula 1 news (official entertainment line-up)).
Where can Abu Dhabi Grand Prix results be found?
The research contains no race or qualifying results, so this article cannot give them. Check the official schedule and updates on the Formula 1 race page (championship calendar) once sessions run.